Cute baby alert …Vizuri Design’s beautiful handmade baby clothes have an African twist

If you have family or friends with babies, you can’t miss Vizuri Designs (‘Good Designs’ in Swahili) at the Fair Christmas Fayre this year.  We spoke to Ruth Talbot about her beautifully designed clothes for children which bring some cheer into our lives with their gorgeous, colourful African designs.

What will you be selling at the Fair Christmas Fayre this year?

Lots of fun and funky clothes for babies and children made with African material. There are also accessories which can be added to a plain outfit to brighten it up, for example my sash belts. These are all handmade by me here in London. For Christmas time only I will also have some jewellery and trinkets which I have been collecting from my travels around various African countries.

Vizuri designs

Tell us about why you started Vizuri designs?

I have always loved the patterns and colours of African materials and noticed that a lot of clothes for babies and young children are quite dull and very gender colour coded. That’s starting to change but its still rare to see african materials used in such clothing. I was inspired to try and change this by producing clothes for boys and girls that will brighten up a rainy British day.

I’m also interested in mixing materials and styles. To me finding a way to mix european tweeds with african prints can be a metaphor for how together different cultures can create something beautiful. The latest design I’m working on is a detachable pocket which victorian female cyclists used to wear, but I’m incorprating some african prints to add a new twist. 

I’m loving spending time being creative again and wish to  expand my reach.

Why did you want to trade at the Fair Christmas Fayre?

My other day job is working in the charity sector and I love the idea of business and fairness coming together to change the way we interact and trade. The fayre will give me the chance as a newly established enterprise to reach out to a broader market and spread the love for African inspired clothing.

What is your favourite thing about Christmas?

Do I have to choose only one? I love Christmas, all the decorations, presents (giving just as much as receiving!), spending time with family and of course all the Christmas fayres!

Any good Christmas Cracker jokes?

What do crackers, fruitcake and nuts remind me of?

                                                                   You!

 Check out Vizuri Designs on Facebook and comes see their gorgeous stall for some great gifts.

Leave a Reply

